This three part French TV serial for children (alternate versions exist as a feature, Manoel’s Destinies, and a 4 part Portuguese TV serial, Adventure in Madeira) is the favourite of many devotees of Raúl Ruiz. This is because it ties the enchantment and mystery of Lewis Carroll, Carlo Collodi and the Brothers Grimm to the filmmaker’s experiments with narrative strategies and what he calls the pentaludic model of storytelling (where characters are thrown dice-like into combinations and situations governed by the play of Chance and Destiny).

Manuel on the Island of Wonders
8/10 by 3 users
TitleManuel on the Island of Wonders
First Air DateJan 01, 1984
Last Air DateJan 01, 1984
Number of Episodes3
Number of Seasons1
GenresSci-Fi & Fantasy
Alternative TitlesAventure au Madeira, L'Île aux merveilles de Manoël, Les destins de Manoel, Os Destinos de Manoel, Manoel on the Island of Marvels, Manoel's Destinies
Plot Keywords
All Subtitle us.png france.png Germany.png italy.png espain.png belanda.png portugal.png hungaria.png ETC.